top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJasper Burdo

Youth in Research: Jasper's Journey As a Young Researcher

Jasper Burdo, a high school student from New York, emphasizes the significance of young individuals in research endeavors and urges inquisitive minds to bravely explore topics that captivate them. Drawing from his own experiences, Jasper delineates the steps youth should take to pursue their research aspirations.





As an increasing number of young individuals involve themselves in research, it becomes imperative to recognize that while it offers a remarkable opportunity to distinguish oneself, genuine passion and dedication to the chosen research subject are essential. For example, if you are truly passionate about art, do something art related. If you are interested in computer science, research something related to that topic. Nevertheless, the end goal of your research should be to publish an article, present to a consortium of scientists, or create a project, maybe community oriented, that will last after you graduate. Simply put, your research needs to be impactful or substantial in one way or another. One way to substantiate your research is by working with a “mentor”, which can be a teacher, professor, or expert in the field. While you might be saying: “How can I get in contact with these people?” There are a few options: Cold-call the person of interest; leverage your personal connections to create a relationship with an expert or professor; you can even reach out to apply for an internship and later utilize that internship as a means to further research. However you make these connections, your intentions must be pure and straightforward.


My name is Jasper Burdo, and I am currently researching the impact Canadian forest fires have had on the air quality of Northeastern New York, my local area. While my path to this opportunity was rather simple, it took careful planning, preparation, and a clear understanding of how I was going to secure my opportunity. First, I spoke with my Earth Science teacher, and he directed me to initiate a zoom meeting with a professor at the University of Albany. Through these meetings, the professor and I spoke deeply about what we wanted to get out of the research and the best way to go about our plan. After our third zoom call, the professor offered me a tour of the facilities we would be utilizing to synthesize our research. On this tour, my understanding of the topic skyrocketed. I began to understand the real-life impact of what I was studying. Over the summer, I contacted a professor at the State University of New York at Plattsburgh, and he later accepted me to intern at the University laboratory.


While many of the summer programs were halted due to weather concerns, I was still able to work a few hours in the lab where we studied microorganisms in a local lake. While this topic was not directly related to my research topic, it showed me the importance of broadening my knowledge. In my research regarding Canadian wildfires, I have been analyzing atmospheric data to determine what atmospheric compounds were at higher levels during smoke events, which are the byproducts of wildfires. Almost always, wildfires heighten carbon dioxide and particulate matter levels, which are harmful to both humans and wildlife. Interestingly, these emissions affect the ecosystems in our local lake, which I studied over the summer at the University laboratory. Although I did not know it during the summer, my studies of the lake ecosystems and wildfires were deeply interconnected. Not only was this connection surprising, but it also gave me another avenue to explore in my research paper.


There is still much work to be done, but I am excited to see where my research takes me. By next year, I am hoping to publish my research and present to scientists at a local research consortium. Although the road can be bumpy in some spots, through perseverance and hard work, you too can accomplish your research goals.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page