top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThemis Magazine

Q & A With 17-Year-Old Environmental and Animal Rights Activist, Genesis Butler

Updated: May 7

Genesis Butler, aged 17, is a prominent environmental and animal rights activist, distinguished as one of the youngest individuals to deliver a TEDx talk titled "A 10 Year Old's Vision for Healing the Planet". Driven by her passion, Butler fervently advocates for raising awareness about the detrimental effects of animal agriculture on the environment. She currently spearheads the Youth Climate Save movement, a pioneering youth-led environmental organization dedicated to highlighting the nexus between climate change and animal consumption.





I think the most significant lesson I've learned from my experience as an activist is that you don't have to be an adult to make a difference.

~ Genesis Butler, 17


 

Themis Magazine: What inspired you to become an animal rights and climate activist? Can you please share examples of major activities you have undertaken as both an animal rights and climate activist?


Genesis Butler:

I first became an animal rights activist when I was 6 years old. I had just went vegan and wanted to do more for the animals so I asked my mom what I could do. She asked around and was invited to a circus protest so I decided to go. I was only 6 but I noticed what an impact it made standing in front of the circus and educating people about the abuse that went on just to entertain them. I became an animal rights activist because of this experience. 


When I was 9, I learned about the negative impact animal agriculture had on the planet and how it's linked to climate change. I was surprised this information wasn't on the news and people weren't talking about it. The focus of the climate crisis has always been the oil industry so I felt it was important to educate people about the animal agriculture industry since it's also destructive. I did a TEDx talk on this topic when I was 10 and after I did my talk, I decided to also become a climate and environmental activist.


Major activities I've taken as an animal rights activist includes attending over 100 protests speaking up for animals, being the keynote at the National Animal Rights conference and The Animal and Vegan Advocacy Summit, bringing animal rights issues mainstream by appearing on Marvel Hero Project where I was named a real life superhero for speaking up for animals, and being on the board of Social Compassion in Legislation that sponsors animal rights related legislation that is eventually signed into law.


Themis Magazine: What is the most significant lesson you have learned from your experience as an activist? What advice would you give to emerging activists?


Genesis Butler:

I think the most significant lesson I've learned from my experience as an activist is that you don't have to be an adult to make a difference. I started my activism when I was only 6 years old and at first I thought, "I'm only 6, who is going to listen to a 6 year old?" I found out people did want to listen to me and it gave me the  motivation and courage to continue to stand up for the animals. There were some people I'd see at protests who would tell my mom I needed to be home and that I shouldn't be protesting, but we ignored them because they didn't know I wanted to be there. 


Advice I'd give emerging activists is to never be afraid to speak up because you are doing the right thing by standing up to injustice. I'd also tell them to start practicing self care right away because the worst thing to do is become an activist and never take care of yourself. You can practice self care by taking some time to do things you love. One thing I like to do for self care is to take long walks in nature and stay away from social media for a few days. 


Themis Magazine: Is there a connection between your activism towards animal rights and climate justice?


Genesis Butler:

I feel that there's a strong connection between my activism towards animal rights and climate justice. I discovered this once I learned about the connection between animal agriculture and climate change. Animal agriculture is one of the leading causes of climate change and is also the leading cause of many environmental problems such as ocean dead zones, species extinction, loss of habitat, water shortages, and water pollution. This has led to health issues for both humans and nonhuman animals. For example, factory farms are located in low-income areas where the residents suffer from diseases due to living so close to factory farms. In addition, animals aren't the only beings exploited on factory farms. The people who work on these farms are often immigrants and prisoners who are forced to work on the farms killing animals every single day for a few dollars an hour. Once I learned about the intersection of animal rights and climate justice, I knew I not only had to be an animal rights activist but I also had to be a climate and environmental activist. 


 

Despite initial doubts about her impact as a young activist, Genesis has engaged in over 100 protests, spoken at major conferences, and even been recognized as a real-life superhero on television. Her profound lesson to developing activists is that age should not hinder action towards effective change. She now encourages emerging activists to fearlessly advocate for justice while prioritizing self-care. Genesis's activism embodies the interconnectedness of animal rights and climate justice, motivating her to champion both causes fervently.


Thank you Genesis for your inspiring words, shedding light on the linkage between animal rights and environmental justice, and for your impactful work!

14 views0 comments
bottom of page